Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee

Thursday 10 November 2016 at 10.00 am

To be held at the Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

Membership

Councillors Tony Damms (Chair), Ian Auckland, Steve Ayris, John Booker, Douglas Johnson, George Lindars-Hammond, Pat Midgley, Helen Mirfin-Boukouris, Josie Paszek, Ian Saunders and Steve Wilson

Substitute Members

In accordance with the Constitution, Substitute Members may be provided for the above Committee Members as and when required.



PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee comprises the Chairs and Deputy Chairs of the four Scrutiny Committees. Councillor Cate McDonald Chairs this Committee.

Remit of the Committee

- Effective use of internal and external resources
- Performance against Corporate Plan Priorities
- Risk management
- Budget monitoring
- Strategic management and development of the scrutiny programme and process
- Identifying and co-ordinating cross scrutiny issues

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at www.sheffield.gov.uk. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Scrutiny Committee meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Scrutiny Committee meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Committee may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

If you require any further information about this Scrutiny Committee, please contact Diane Owens, Policy and Improvement Officer, on 0114 27 35065 or email diane.owens@sheffield.gov.uk

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE AGENDA 10 NOVEMBER 2016

Order of Business

1. Welcome and Housekeeping Arrangements

2. Apologies for Absence

3. Exclusion of Public and Press

To identify items where resolutions may be moved to exclude the press and public

4. Declarations of Interest

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting

5. Minutes of Previous Meeting

To approve the minutes of the meeting of the Committee held on 28th July, 2016

6. Public Questions and Petitions

To receive any questions or petitions from members of the public

7. How Sheffield City Council Wants to do Business - Ethical Procurement

Report of the Interim Executive Director, Resources

8. Revenue and Capital Budget Monitoring 2016/17 - As at 31st August, 2016 (Month 5)

Report of the Interim Executive Director, Resources

9. Draft Work Programme 2016/17

Report of the Policy and Improvement Officer

10. Issues to Raise from Other Scrutiny Committees

Scrutiny Committee Chairs to raise any issues relating to their respective Committees

11. Presentation Topics for the January 2017 Council Meeting

To select one or two topics to be the subject of presentations at the meeting of the Council to be held on 4th January, 2017

12. Date of Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be held on Thursday, 1st December, 2016, at 10.00 am, in the Town Hall